Sun Protection Clothing for Hiking, Backpacking, Climbing, Camping and More

The invigorating warmth of the sun on your skin is hard to beat. But when you’re on a hanging belay at the 18th, 19th or 20th pitch baking in the sun with no relief, those rays can go from friend to foe.

The amount of sun protection you require depends on a huge number of variables: skin type, altitude, time of year and traveling in high albedo (reflective) areas to name a few.

At Outdoor Research, we have a selection of apparel and gear with rated sun protection. But what does sun protection in a fabric really mean and how is it achieved?

What is Sun Protection?

Sun protection is a way to shield UV rays with a garment and depends largely on the tightness of a garment’s weave. Simply put: the tighter the weave, the higher the Ultraviolet Protection Factor (UPF), the less UV light passing through. Other factors like dyes, treatments or fiber types also play into it. For example, different materials – cotton, nylon, polyester – have different natural UV-absorbing properties. Of those, polyester offers the best natural protection. In addition, the design and fit of the garment can increase the UV protection (high collars, long sleeves). But the fabric material and make-up is not the only thing to consider: It’s important to remember fabrics that are worn thin, wet or stretched may have reduced protection from UV light.

Ultraviolet Protection Factor (UPF) vs. Sun Protection Factor (SPF)

UPF is to clothing what SPF is to lotions. To provide a meaningful measurement, like the SPF rating, three organizations worked together to establish a UPF testing protocol for the United States to measure UV protection in garments. The translation is simple: the higher the rating the greater the protection. In a UPF 30 garment, the material allows 1/30th of the sun’s UV radiation to pass through. Each rating is given a percentage of UV protection.

Outdoor Research offers three different UPF protection levels within its fabrics – 15, 30 and 50+. A UPF rating of 15 offers good protection with 93.3 percent of UV light blocked. UPF 30 offers very good protection with 96.7 percent of UV light blocked and UPF 50+ offers excellent protection with over 98 percent of UV light blocked.

We have an ever-growing collection of Sun Protection items. Some of our most popular pieces are the Men’s Echo Tee™ and Women’s Echo Tee™ or Echo Hoody™. These UPF 15 pieces are lightweight and moisture wicking – ideal for high exertion activities.

With so much attention to arms and shoulders, we sometimes forget about our legs. Most of our pants and shorts, for both genders, are rated UPF 50+. Some examples are the Women’s Clearview Pant™, Men’s Deadpoint Pant™, Women’s Expressa Short™, Men’s Equinox Pant™, or the Men’s and Women’s Treadway pants and short.

Sun protection isn’t restricted to just shirts and pants. To keep your exposed hands from getting hammered with UV rays, try the Chroma Sun Gloves™ – fingerless sun gloves ideal for activities like kayaking, glacier travel or fishing – or the Spectrum Sun Gloves™ – UPF 50+ fingerless sun gloves.

The Sentinel Sun Sleeves™, which can be worn up to the knuckles or at the wrist, have UPF 50+ as well as Insect Shield® protection. The UPF 50+ Spectrum Sun Sleeves™ is a full sleeve ideal for trail running, biking, glacier travel, kayaking or stand-up paddle boarding. 

We also use UPF 30 and UPF 50+ fabrics on all our top selling sun hats. Three examples are the HeliosSun Hat™, SombrioletSun Hat™ and the Women’sOasis Sombrero™, which has a very large brim for sun coverage.

While our clothing’s sun protection is effective, we also think in many situations UPF-rated clothing works best in conjunction with a sunscreen lotion. The amount of sun protection all depends on the variables. So next time you head out to that south-facing cliff or jump in your kayak, take a minute to consider it all and pick the best protection for you and your adventure. Your skin will thank you in the long run. 

SUN PROTECTIVE SHIRTS

Men’s Wayward Shirt: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/mens/mens-wayward-l-s-shirt.html

Men’s Termini Shirt: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/mens/mens-termini-shirt.html

Men’s Echo Duo L/S Tee: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/mens-echo-l-s-duo-tee-32515.html

Women’s Torque Tee: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/womens/womens-l-s-torque-tee.html

Women’s Echo Hoody: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/womens/womens-echo-hoody.html

SUN PROTECTIVE HATS

Helios Sun Hat: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/accessories/helios-sun-hat.html

Sombriolet Sun Hat: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/accessories/sombriolet-sun-hat.html

Oasis Sombrero: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/womens-oasis-sombrero.html

Swift Cap: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/accessories/swift-cap.html

Sun Runner Cap: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/accessories/sun-runner-cap.html

SUN PROTECTIVE PANTS

Men’s Equinox Convert Pants: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/mens/mens-equinox-convert-pants.html

Women’s Solitaire Convert Pants: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/womens/womens-solitaire-convert-pants.html

Men’s Treadway Pants: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/mens/mens-treadway-pants.html

Women’s Treadway Pants: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/womens/womens-treadway-pants.html

SUN PROTECTIVE GLOVES

Sentinel Sun Sleeves: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/accessories/sentinel-sun-sleeves.html

Chroma Sun Gloves: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/accessories/chroma-sun-gloves.html

Spectrum Sun Sleeves: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/accessories/spectrum-sun-sleeves.html

Spectrum Sun Gloves: http://www.outdoorresearch.com/en/accessories/spectrum-sun-gloves.html